Election of President

Peter Carter Elected President

The President of Canoe SA is elected by the financial members of the association.

Peter Carter joined the then SA Canoeing Association in 1972, and in 1974 was elected its secretary. He went on to hold that position for 11 years and then as president for a term in 1987. It was during this period that he became a Life Member of the association.
In 1974, Peter became an Instructor in the SACanoeing Assosiation scheme, transferring to the Australian Canoeing Federation scheme when it was formed in 1976.

Peter worked at instructing various groups and became a Senior Sea Instructor (assessed in NSW) and is currently a Sea Instructor and Flatwater Instructor (Canoe). Throughout this period he has been a member of the SA Education and Safety Technical Committee and its predecessors, and for much of the time, the Australian Canoeing Education and Safety Technical Committee, as its secretary and currently as the member responsible for preparing its training documentation.
Peter's main interest has been in sea kayaking, and he was involved in a number of significant early expeditions in this state including a circumnavigation of Kangaroo Island. As part of that interest, he developed and built boats and other equipment.
In the late 1970s and early 1980s period he paddled Sprint (K1) and Slalom (K1 and C1) with some success, and occasionally, Polo. He was qualified as Sprint and Slalom official. More recently, during the 2012–13 Sprint season he drove rescue boats at local regattas.
After being secretary of Investigator Canoe Club for some years, he transferred to Adelaide Canoe Club when ICC was wound up, and became its secretary. For some years Peter has been a member of the Canoe SA Board, and has represented Canoe SA on bodies such as the SA Trails Coordinating Committee.