Batchat: News from Canoe Polo

Fantastic start to the 2017 Hot Summer Nights season

The Hot Summer Nights season started on Wednesday 1 February with 2 A grade teams and 3 B grade teams, but there are more players interested in joining so the committee has organised the pool for longer and there will be 4 B grade teams.

For Wednesday 8 February, Payneham Pool is activating their Hot Weather policy, and we will not be able to set up until 8 pm. Hence games will commence at 8:10 pm and be slightly shorter.

 Set up is normally at 7:30pm. Teams scheduled in game 2 need to be there to set up the goals

Location:  Payneham Pool, OG Road, Felixstow

Games: Wednesday 1 February – 29 March

Time: 7:30 pm to approx 10:15 pm

Cost: $20 per night or $150 if paid on or before Week 2 games.

A development package of $100 is on offer for

  • U21 players who attend Sunday training sessions during February and March and have nominated for the State team.
  • New canoe polo players (commenced in 2016 / 2017).

Further details are available from Noel Holmes (

Season fees can be paid by EFT transfer to BSB 805 005 Account 100143252 Account name: Canoe SA Polo, or in cash on the night. If paying by EFT, please either email a copy of your EFT receipt to or bring it on week 1.

A grade players (teams organised each week)


Ken Sullivan Eoin Whelan
Ben Philips David Toohey
Adam Hofmeyer Chris Hadjinicolaou
Ben Melville Esrom Leaman
Dermot Cussen Will Polley
Megan Holmes Leigh Richardson
Zane Snook Charlie Rowe


B Grade teams


team 1 team 3
Bernard Goble Ricky Belisle
Allan Toohey Janet Burdon
Nigel Rowe Harry Deane
Bill Fradd Noel Holmes
Tom Melville Isla Heath
Bronwyn Turner Daniel Gregg
team 2 team 4
Simon Langsford Zoe Carter
Steve Wild Nicole Hendry
Jenny Inverarity Simon Inverarity
Natasha Wood Scott Polley
Josh Peter Duong
Andrew Johnson Anne Langsford

Each team should come up with a more exciting name!


Program for week 2 Wednesday 8 Feb – later start due to Payneham Pool hot weather policy.

8 minute halves, 2 minutes half time, 2 minutes between games

Time Team A Team B Referees Duty team
8:00 Set up Teams 1 and 4
1 8:10 B Team 2 Team 3 Team 1 Team 4
2 8:30 B Team 1 Team 4 A grade A grade
3 8:50 A Ricky and Peter Team 3
4 9:10 B Team 3 Team 4 Team 2 Team 1
5 9:30 B Team 1 Team 2 A grade A grade
6 9:50 A Peter and ? Team 3
10:10 Pack up Team 4

The pool must be vacated by 10:30pm.


Reminder: All canoe polo players must be a member of a South Australian Canoe Club.

To join a club, go to and select SA and then the club you wish to join or renew membership.

National Canoe Polo Championships

The national championships will be held at Nagambie Lakes Regatta Centre, Victoria from 11 – 13 March 2017.

We plan to nominate the following categories:


  • Open Men
  • Open Women
  • U21
  • U18 women/U16 Men
  • Junior (U15)
  • Micro-Junior (U13)
  • Mini-Micro (U10)
  • Veterans (Over 35)
  • Masters (Over 45)

Nominations will be accepted until Friday 10 February.  Please hand completed nomination forms and nomination fee to Anthea at Wednesday competition or scan and email to The nomination fee is $70 and is payable when nomination is submitted.

State Uniforms:

There are a number of new players who are seeking to borrow a SA Canoe Polo state team long-sleeved shirt. If anyone is prepared to loan their shirt, please advise

Sunday Training

Training is on Sunday mornings at 9 am at Corcoran Dr, West Lakes.

Nomination Form (1)