Paddle SA.

Getting People Paddling since 1978!
Paddle SA is the governing body of paddle sport and recreation in South Australia, and is affiliated with Paddle Australia (the national association) and the SA Olympic Council.

Paddle SA receives funding from the Government of South Australia through the Office for Recreation and Sport\’s Sport and Recreation Development and Inclusion Program (SRDIP) and the Sport and Recreation Sustainability Program (SRSP). The Programs were established to assist the South Australian Government to work in partnership with state sporting and active recreation organisations to implement programs and initiatives that support the South Australian Strategic Plan\’s sport and recreation target.

Paddling is a multi-faceted activity, ranging from quiet dabbling in backwaters to the athleticism of sprint racing, along with marathon racing, canoe polo, and sea and surf kayaking. There is no whitewater in South Australia, so slalom and downriver racing do not feature in this state.

Each discipline is administered by a standing committee of Paddle South Australia, and information is available on this web site. Affiliated clubs are also provided with links.

There are eight active clubs affiliated with Paddle SA over metropolitan and regional Adelaide participating in all types of canoeing. Clubs welcome your membership and can provide instruction, training or coaching. Some clubs also can provide access to club equipment.

We encourage you to use this website as a guide to finding information about paddling in South Australia. Whether you are looking to do a kayaking course, join a club, enter events, find out where to paddle or get the latest canoeing news its all here on one site.

Board of directors

The Board of Directors consists of a President, elected by the membership every two years at the AGM and five “interested” directors, with an addition of a possible two “independent” directors.

The Chairperson of the Board is a position elected by the Directors at the first Board meeting after the AGM. The Chairperson’s role is to chair all Board meetings and the AGM.

The term of office for all elected positions on the Board is for two years. In each odd year, the President and two directors are elected and in each even year, three directors are elected (in accordance with the constitution)

Jim Murphy, President
Mark Bulmer
Lawrie Shem
Frances Goble
Peter Duong
Greg Dunn
Meredith Blesing
Eddie Andriessen

Paddle SA Standing Committees

The constitution provides for a standing committees of the Board to be responsible for particular areas of the sport and to assist the Board in its governance and operational tasks.

Canoe Polo Technical Committee – Chairperson: Noel Holmes
Education and Safety Technical Committee – Chairperson: Scott Polley
Flatwater Racing Technical Committee (includes the disciplines of Canoe/Kayak Sprint and Canoe/Kayak Marathon) – Chairperson: Jim Murphy

Life Members
The constitution sets out the provisions for life membership of the Association 7.3 Life Members:

(a) Any member may nominate a person who has rendered distinguished or special service to the sport of canoeing at the state level, for life membership. The nomination must be on the prescribed form (if any) and must be submitted to the Executive Officer.

(b) The Board must approve any nominations prior to their consideration at an Annual General Meeting.

(c) The nomination for Life Member shall be considered at the Annual General Meeting. A resolution of the Annual General Meeting to confer life membership must be passed by Special Resolution. The vote on such resolution will be taken by secret ballot.

(d) Conditions, obligations and privileges of life membership shall be as prescribed in the By-Laws.

Life Members of Paddle SA

The following people have been conferred with life membership of Paddle South Australia.

Ron Blum
Peter Carter
Bruce Chidlow
Anthea Courtney
Martin Finn
David Forster
John Hales
Noel Holmes
Brother Ray Howard (deceased)
Ian Hume
David Mallett
David Mausolf (deceased)
Jim Murphy
H John (Blue) Nolan
Mark O\’Brien
Lawrie Shem
Derek Stevens
Ken Sullivan
Roger French